Tags

, , , , , , , ,

As an antidote to the recent cold weather, I thought I’d post the inspiration for my latest jewelry…my neighbor’s pink flowering dogwood, Cornus florida.  It typically blooms in April and has up to 20 flowers in each flower head surrounded by 4 large pink bracts.  The majority of the greenish-yellow flowers in my pictures were not quite open yet, but the red admiral must have found a few as it was fluttering around.

I wondered if I could get a similar effect in polymer clay and wire…colorful, layered, airy with hints of green leaves poking through the pink.  Here’s my first attempt…

 

Pink Flowering Dogwood pendant-polymer clay, copper wire, amazonite chips, chrysoprase, peridot and glass beads © 2014 Karen A Johnson

And my second!  Enjoy!

Pink Flowering Dogwood necklace-polymer clay, copper wire, amazonite chips, chrysoprase and copper and glass beads. © 2014 Karen A Johnson

Pink Flowering Dogwood necklace-polymer clay, copper wire, amazonite chips, chrysoprase and copper and glass beads.
© 2014 Karen A Johnson

Pink Flowering Dogwood necklace set © 2014 Karen A Johnson

Pink Flowering Dogwood necklace set
© 2014 Karen A Johnson

 

