Tags

, , , , , , ,

Arboretum fall woods

Waterfall Glenn reflection

This time of year just seems to be packed full…trees showing off their true colors, photographers and artists racing to capture those colors, animals frantically storing up for winter, and birds and butterflies migrating to warmer climes.  In an earlier post I had drawn 3 monarch caterpillars so I thought I would update their status.  They pupated and emerged-2 females and 1 male.  One of the females was slightly malformed which saddened me, but she managed to flutter around the asters for a while and in a couple of days, was gone.  I managed to see the other female emerge and watch her wings enlarge.  It only took around 15 minutes.  Then she rested overnight and I let her out the next morning.  It’s an amazing process…

Monarch lifecycle finished...

