Tags

, , ,

My porcelain vine produces leaves and buds, but hasn’t had berries in years.  The Japanese beetle is the main reason for this lack of production.  My neighbor also has a porcelain vine which produced a crop of buds that were eaten by the beetles; however, her vine produced another round of buds.  The freezing temperatures which would normally decimate this vine have delayed their arrival and beautiful berries cover her vine.  I was so excited to see them contrasting with the yellow leaves, that she gave me some clippings to draw in the warmth of my studio.  To me these berries are an example to encourage me to persist in becoming who God created me to be despite any “beetles” that may try to discourage me.

Porcelain Vine Berries copyright 2011

Philippians 1:6 being confident of this, that He who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.

