Tags

, ,

There are many interesting things to learn about yourself when you take a class in a new medium that makes you uncomfortable.  Fear of failure, loss of control over my supplies, and mild envy at other’s creations were just a few of the emotions that tumbled through my mind when I took a mixed media/collage class.  As I sat there surrounded by random pieces of paper, wondering what on earth to do with them, the teacher walked by and said, “You need a focus.”  Talk about the basics!  As in life, a focus is the foundation to build on.  After that mind-opening comment, I drained away the negative thoughts, found a focus, and started having fun without worrying about results.  It’s such a relief sometimes to be reminded of foundational concepts that can affect your life as well as your art.

 

A New Beginning-Monarch copyright Karen A Johnson 2011

