Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I was given the gift of time recently in between project deadlines so I took the opportunity to sketch and photograph at Whalon Lake Preserve in Will County, IL.  I rode my bike there, hauling my camera and sketching supplies in my backpack.  Knowing I’ve carried this heavy backpack reminds me to put the camera down and sketch!  It was not an ideal day for photographing-high wind and sun in my face-but I was able to catch a few images.  After a time, I was able to relax and become absorbed in the scene…frogs singing, wind whistling, dragonflies darting to and fro.  A pair of Canada geese came in almost on top of me while a trio of green darners performed aerial acrobatics a few feet away.  I was alone and yet felt surrounded by life and God’s presence…it was time well spent.

