Tags

, , , ,

While hiking at Starved Rock State park with my husband, I came across a wildflower that I’d never seen before.  I took pictures and eventually tore myself away only to encounter several more clumps posing artistically in front of a moss-covered log.  I felt like one of the explorers of old as I looked inside the flower, counted petals and stamens and noted the perfoliate leaf surrounding the stem.  Later that week I happened to see it again in a neighbor’s yard and she kindly told me it was a large-flowered bellwort (Uvularia grandiflora).  She allowed me to take a stem so I could draw it and dissect the flower and the botanist in me took over!  It was wonderful to be able to walk a familiar path and see something completely new as well as be able to document my find.

Large-flowered Bellwort sketch Karen A Johnson copyright 2012

