Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Palamedes Swallowtails sketch copyright Karen A Johnson 2012

 

I have been amazed at the sheer number of butterflies this spring in my area, but there also were loads of them down in Conroe, Texas as well!  I was able to spend a few days with my parents and their yard was like a butterfly house.  I could hardly stand to be inside, so I sketched and photographed like crazy to my family’s amusement.  I guess when you see something all the time, it becomes commonplace.  There also were various caterpillars munching on the vegetation and a green tree frog that cooperated for his sitting.

The hornworm that I sketched was interesting in that after 2 days it molted and completely changed color.  I had tentatively identified it as a White-lined Sphinx, but now I’m not sure…and I may never know, as I had to leave my butterfly paradise to come home.

Green Tree Frog sketch copyright Karen A Johnson 2012

Hornworm sketch copyright Karen A Johnson 2012

Palamedes Swallowtail copyright Karen A Johnson 2012

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s a link to some more photos of the butterflies…http://www.flickr.com/photos/karensnatureart/7304687090/

Enjoy!

