Tags

, , , , ,

Sketching at Devil’s Doorway copyright Karen A Johnson 2012

My husband and I had the opportunity to go hiking in Wisconsin last weekend.  Generally I use these times to sketch and photograph, hauling cameras and a backpack wherever I go.  After a little research and looking at the weather forecast (upper 80’s to 90), I decided that paring down my gear would be a good idea.  We were heading to Devil’s Lake State Park where there were 500 foot quartzite bluffs and cliffs and trails described as difficult.  I was able to get rid of the backpack and just take my watercolor mini-palette, waterbrush, a micron pen and a sketchbook.  It all fit into a fanny pack which my husband graciously carried along with some water bottles.  I still took my big camera but only my 28-135 zoom lens.  The views were spectacular and well worth the trip.  I had a hard time deciding where to sketch, but I was determined to draw something as I didn’t want my husband to be hauling the supplies around for nothing.  We arrived at the Devil’s Doorway, on the edge of a cliff, where people seemed to be congregating.  I found a ledge about waist high that I could climb onto and be out of the way and started sketching.  I do have a bit of a problem with heights and as long as I focused on drawing and not the people getting close to the edge of the cliff, I was fine.  I loved the various rock formations, trees growing right out of the cliffs and the pinkish color of the quartzite.  Even though it was hot, there was a breeze and shade which made it bearable.

Devil’s Doorway in Wisconsin copyright Karen A Johnson 2012

We also visited Rocky Arbor State Park which was quite a contrast.  Lots of ferns, and sedimentary rocks poking up from the hillsides made it seem like a step back in time.

To see more photos of our hike, click on this link: http://www.flickr.com/photos/karensnatureart/sets/72157630112365000/

