Tags

, , , , , ,

The Nature Artists’ Guild held their most recent paint-out at the Ball Horticultural Company’s beautiful gardens in West Chicago.  Even though it’s been summer-like recently, a refreshing breeze made sketching enjoyable.  I was drawn to a bed of hybrid coneflowers in a rainbow of colors, even on one plant!  Echinacea “Irresistable” lived up to its name as it drew me in with its wonderful textures and gradating colors.  After baking in the sun for that sketch, I retired to the shade and found a patch of daisies to draw.  I was drawn to the white contrasting with the green and tried to simplify what I was seeing.  Here’s a link to a few more flowers from the gardens: http://www.flickr.com/photos/karensnatureart/7410218116/

Echinacea “Irresistable” copyright Karen A Johnson 2012

Daisy patch copyright Karen A Johnson 2012

