Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Jasper Park sketch

Jasper Park, Savannah
©2012 Karen A Johnson

Squirrels at Jasper Park

Squirrels at Jasper Park
©2012 Karen A Johnson

I just returned from a wonderful conference in Savannah, Georgia, put on by the Guild of Natural Science Illustrators (GNSI) in conjunction with the Savannah College of Art and Design (SCAD).  It was a great opportunity to catch up with old friends, make new ones, and learn about different aspects of natural science illustration.  It’s a wide field, covering all aspects of biology, paleontology, botany, geology, museum murals, magazine and textbook illustrations, signage, children’s books, and much more.  One thing we all have in common is a love of nature and drawing.  I always walk away with ways to improve my artwork as well as grow my business.  Sometimes I get overwhelmed at all the talent that is there, but then I realize that everyone takes just one step at a time.  So I stop comparing and focus on what I need to do to improve.  I’ve made a goal of putting into action something new that I learned at each conference.  Last year I started a blog and will soon hit my one year anniversary! This year will be something related to marketing…

Every year there are field trips and workshops after the core presentations-always difficult to choose which ones to do!  This year I decided to explore the area and visited Wassaw Island, the Oatland Island Wildlife Center and Little Tybee Island.  The highlight for me was seeing dolphins in the wild, such beautiful creatures!  I was able to sketch on some of these trips as well as take some pictures…see them at this link-http://flic.kr/ps/21oL7o

If you have an interest in science and art, why don’t you check out www.gnsi.org and maybe join us in Bar Harbor, Maine next year!

Wassaw Island beach sketch

Wassaw Island beach
©2012 Karen A Johnson

