Tags

, , , , , , ,

The Guild of Natural Science Illustrators (GNSI), Great Lakes chapter, is holding an exhibit featuring spring botanicals at the Fernwood Botanic Garden in Niles, IL.  The exhibit runs from Feb. 28 through April 14.  I had the privilege of attending the opening reception on March 3, 2013 with several friends of mine.  The exhibit space is roomy and open with each piece well-lit.  It was fun to see some of our Michigan members and put faces to familiar names.  Kathleen Kiesselbach organized the reception and hung the exhibit.  She did a wonderful job and has plans for our group in the future!  If you’re in the area, be sure to drop by and see the exhibit.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Outside the nature center, spring was starting to show its face in a wonderful display of blooming winter aconite.  I was transfixed by the sight as I haven’t seen any flowers in my area come up yet.  Seeing the flowers reminded me of how much I missed color during the winter.  Hope you enjoy this glimpse of spring!

 

