Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

In early July I attended the Guild of Natural Science Illustrators’ conference.  Part One (the last blog post) covered the core conference which lasts through Wednesday.  Part two covers the end of the week which is full of workshops and field trips.  I took Gary Hoyle’s plant modeling workshop.  He is a wonderful artist who has spent decades working on museum displays all over the East coast.  His models are lifelike and scientifically accurate.

Gary's models

Gary’s models

Gary's models

Gary’s models

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To see more of his work, check out his website at http://garyhoyle.weebly.com/  For the workshop, our task was to try to duplicate a real branch of leaves, using paper and wire.  We were skeptical but ready to try!  The steps were not hard and here was my final result…

Smokebush branch

Smokebush branch

Smokebush model

Smokebush model-only had time for three leaves

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Friday I went on a sketching field trip.  We stopped at three different sites in Acadia National Park, sat down, observed and drew.  It was wonderful!  Most of us also took photographs and I’ll admit to having a difficult time putting the camera down in such beautiful places, but I’m glad I did.

Saturday, Gary led a field trip to Swan’s Island where he lives and has his studio.  We had permission to visit Irish Point and had a general tour of the island.

Swan’s Island was just beautiful and we had a perfect day, weatherwise.  Looking back, I’m amazed at how much was accomplished over the week.  Many thanks go to all the people that were involved in hosting and organizing such an inspiring conference!  I’m looking forward to the next one!