Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I had so much fun bringing my bellwort and bumble bee to life that I thought I’d try my hand at honeysuckle and a hummingbird type moth.  I love hummingbird moths and try to get pictures of them whenever I can.  However, when I started looking through my pictures for references for this painting, I discovered several different moths!  This led to discovering that there’s at least two different moths that I’ve been calling a “hummingbird” moth which I’ll talk about in the next post.  At any rate, I chose to paint the snowberry clearwing (Hemaris diffinis) along with one of  its host plants, honeysuckle (Lonicera sempervirens).  I had a deadline of today to finish in order to enter it into a show, so we’ll see what happens to it!  Here are the various stages of the artwork…enjoy!

Acrylic background with inked in sketch

Acrylic background with inked in sketch

leaves roughed in with white

leaves roughed in with white

first layer of greens on leaves

first layer of greens on leaves

several layers on some of the leaves

several layers on some of the leaves

leaves finished

leaves finished

flowers started

flowers started

next group of flowers

next group of flowers

next group of flowers

next group of flowers

moth and last group of flowers added

moth and last group of flowers added

close-up of moth and flowers

close-up of moth and flowers

