Tags

, , , , , ,

Cicadas are one of my favorite insects in the summer, their loud choruses filling the hot humid air.  Generally you don’t see them much, but this year I found several on the ground towards the end of their season.  They were still colorful and I was able to draw them and use them as a model for my cicada necklace.  I loved the pattern on the thorax contrasting with the black as well as the beautiful green on the wings.  Enjoy!

Cicada sketch © 2013 Karen A Johnson

Cicada sketch
© 2013 Karen A Johnson

Cicada Necklace-polymer clay, copper, jasper, tiger eye, Czech fire polished crystals and glass beads © 2013 Karen A Johnson

Cicada Necklace-polymer clay, copper, jasper, tiger eye, Czech fire polished crystals and glass beads
© 2013 Karen A Johnson

Cicada necklace © 2013 Karen A Johnson

Cicada necklace
© 2013 Karen A Johnson

Cicada-ventral side © 2013 Karen A Johnson

Cicada-ventral side
© 2013 Karen A Johnson

