Tags

Photography has a wide range of specialties including portraits, wildlife, landscape, wedding and product photography. For the last 28 years, my focus has been on nature, especially insects and plants with some landscapes thrown in for good measure. I never thought product photography was all that interesting or difficult as the subject never moved. Once I got into making jewelry, however, I changed my tune! After two years of frustration dealing with boards, homemade reflectors and whatever light was available from the window, I decided to get a more professional setup from Table Top Studios.. The kit came with 3 daylight adjusted lamps, a diffuser cube and several different backgrounds. Now I can take photos with or without the sun!

Fall Symphony pendant © 2013 Karen A Johnson

Fall Symphony pendant
© 2013 Karen A Johnson

Fall Symphony pendant © 2013 Karen A Johnson

Fall Symphony pendant
© 2013 Karen A Johnson

Fall Symphony pendant © 2013 Karen A Johnson

Fall Symphony pendant
© 2013 Karen A Johnson

The black acrylic background is reflective and very dramatic, but also attracts dust and airborne particles. Fortunately, Photoshop is much better at removing them than I am.

10 lined June beetle-black background © 2013 Karen A Johnson

10 lined June beetle-black background
© 2013 Karen A Johnson

10 lined June beetle-White background © 2013 Karen A Johnson

10 lined June beetle-White background
© 2013 Karen A Johnson

I will hopefully get much better with practice, but at least it’s easier with the right equipment. Enjoy this new venture and I wish my readers a wonderful Christmas and a joy-filled New Year!

