Tags

, , , , , , , ,

It’s time to add some color to the flowers and vines…first I block in general colors.

Painting step 2 © 2014 Karen A Johnson

Painting step 2
© 2014 Karen A Johnson

 

Then I add thin glazes of lighter colors for highlights and darker colors for shadows.

Painting step 3 © 2014 Karen A Johnson

Painting step 3
© 2014 Karen A Johnson

I work on the vines and flowers some more…for me, patience and perseverance are needed at this stage.

Painting step 4 © 2014 Karen A Johnson

Painting step 4
© 2014 Karen A Johnson

Here’s a close-up of the flowers on the left…I try to work all over the piece and not focus on one part too much too soon, but sometimes I forget!

flower detail © 2014 Karen A Johnson

flower detail
© 2014 Karen A Johnson

Then I tackle the Painted Lady butterfly-as my reward for dealing with all the green!  I use many thin layers to build depth and a rich color in the butterfly.

Add the antennae…and it’s finished.

Butterfly final © 2014 Karen A Johnson

Butterfly final
© 2014 Karen A Johnson

Now to make sure all the tendrils are going where they should…

Painting step 5 © 2014 Karen A Johnson

Painting step 5
© 2014 Karen A Johnson

other side view © 2014 Karen A Johnson

side view
© 2014 Karen A Johnson

side view © 2014 Karen A Johnson

other side view
© 2014 Karen A Johnson

And shadows and other details are added…and the painting part is finished!  I do have another part to this piece that will be shown in the next blog post.  If you’re in the Chicago area, this painting will be part of a group exhibit at the Nature Artists’ Guild Spring Exhibit at the Morton Arboretum this weekend, April 5-6, 2014.   Come see what else I’ve added and enjoy a roomful of beautiful nature artwork in a variety of styles and media.  Hope to see you there!

Painting step 6 © 2014 Karen A Johnson

Painting step 6- 11″ x 14″
© 2014 Karen A Johnson

