Tags

, , , , , , ,

This is the final post on my piece “Brought to Life: Perennial Peavine”.

Part 1 dealt with the background and ink drawing in the middle.

Part 2 dealt with the rest of the painting.

Part 3 goes back to the story I told in part 1 about the mantis that took up residence on the vine in my garden.  When I first started the “Brought to Life” series I was interested in bringing a DaVinci-esque line drawing to life using color.  As I pondered on how to add a mantis to my piece, I thought it might be neat to add an additional dimension and sculpt the mantis.  So here are some stages of the mantis…

I start with a sketch, then make an armature with polymer clay and wire and bake.

mantis phase 1 © 2014 Karen A Johnson

mantis phase 1
© 2014 Karen A Johnson

Then I add additional layers of clay

mantis abdomen side © 2014 Karen A Johnson

mantis abdomen side
© 2014 Karen A Johnson

mantis abdomen © 2014 Karen A Johnson

mantis abdomen
© 2014 Karen A Johnson

mantis thorax 1 © 2014 Karen A Johnson

mantis thorax 1
© 2014 Karen A Johnson

mantis thorax 2 © 2014 Karen A Johnson

mantis thorax 2
© 2014 Karen A Johnson

I add a patina…for me that’s adding acrylic paint and rubbing off the excess so the paint stays in the crevasses. I also sanded everything smooth at this point since it’s easier doing it now than with a bunch of legs in the way.

mantis with patina © 2014 Karen A Johnson

mantis with patina
© 2014 Karen A Johnson

mantis with patina, ventral © 2014 Karen A Johnson

mantis with patina, ventral
© 2014 Karen A Johnson

In the process of adding the wings, head and antennae, I got rather involved and forgot to keep photographing, but hopefully you get the idea!

Here’s the final mantis and then how I positioned it on the painting.   Enjoy!

mantis final © 2014 Karen A Johnson

mantis final
© 2014 Karen A Johnson

Brought to Life: Perennial Peavine © 2014 Karen A Johnson

Brought to Life: Perennial Peavine
© 2014 Karen A Johnson

Brought to Life: Perennial Peavine, detail © 2014 Karen A Johnson

Brought to Life: Perennial Peavine, detail
© 2014 Karen A Johnson

 

 

 

