Tags

, , , , , ,

It’s interesting how sketching the same thing year after year can free you up to try new styles or ways of sketching.  Every year I sketch my Oriental poppies, or try to!  They open quickly and move all over, opening and closing as the sun changes, hides behind clouds.  I wanted to be a little freer with my color this year, which I did, until I overworked the sketch and didn’t stop in time.

Poppies-Day 1 © 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Poppies-Day 1
© 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Attempt two: I tried drawing in pen and then adding watercolor…

Poppies-Day 2 © 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Poppies-Day 2
© 2014 Karen A. Johnson

The nice thing about Photoshop is that I can brighten up both sketches, add them together and have a nice grouping of poppies to remind me of my time sketching.  Enjoy!

Poppies-Days 1 and 2 © 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Poppies-Days 1 and 2
© 2014 Karen A. Johnson

