Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Mayslake Peabody Estate is operated by the DuPage County Forest Preserve and is a Tudor Revival mansion built in 1921.  It has beautiful gardens and a lake and is where the Nature Artists’ Guild had their June paint-out last Tuesday.  The day was gloomy and drippy with low grey clouds that threatened rain, but since I hadn’t been to this place before, I decided to check it out.  It was fun to imagine what the mansion might have looked like in all its glory.  The Restoration Society is in the process of renovating both the gardens and different parts of the mansion as they raise the funds.

Mayslake Peabody Estate © 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Mayslake Peabody Estate
© 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Mayslake Peabody Estate © 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Mayslake Peabody Estate
© 2014 Karen A. Johnson

 

It was very peaceful as I wandered around the grounds, but especially so at the lake so I decided to sketch there.  The raindrops added a fun design to my sketch right after I started working on the water and I gave up soon after.  I took some photos as well, finding some beautiful poppies that just glowed with color.  Enjoy!

