Tags

, , , , , ,

Here’s the progress report on my Cottonwood Tree Borer:

I added thin layers of clay to build out the part of the body covered by the elytra (wing covers).  Once the body had the overall right shape, I added slices of my patterned cane and then carved away thin pieces to perfect the shape.  You can see the pile on my work area to the bottom left.  I always get involved at this stage and forget to take intermediate pictures…love it when that happens!

CTB head © 2014 Karen A. Johnson

CTB head
© 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Work area © 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Work area
© 2014 Karen A. Johnson

On the ventral side I was able to smear the clay in a painting manner because it (and my house in general) was very warm and pliable.  No paint has been used so far-it’s all clay.

Ventral view © 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Ventral view
© 2014 Karen A. Johnson

The top has been sanded through 5 stages of sandpaper and now he’s ready to have legs and antennae finished.  Enjoy!

Top view © 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Top view
© 2014 Karen A. Johnson

