Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

I recently had several pieces accepted into a juried exhibit entitled, “Fourth Coast Illuminated”, being held at the Kalamazoo Nature Center.  Since one of them was my “Brought to Life-Perennial Peavine” piece which has a mantis sculpture on it, I decided to hand-deliver the artwork.  The nature center is a beautiful building surrounded by woods, rehabilitation cages, and 14 miles of trails.

Once my artwork was delivered, I had a little time to explore one of the trails which led down to a wetland.  After the sun came out, the insects did too!  I was excited to see a new (for me) species of butterfly which I think was an Eyed Brown.  I wandered down a boardwalk and an Eastern Tailed Blue opened up its wings in front of me, basking in the warmth of the sun.  Then it disappeared…I searched all over but I wasn’t looking close enough-it was on my foot!  I couldn’t even feel him, he was so light.

The exhibit runs from July 1 to September 10, 2014, and I hope to make another visit there to not only see all the artwork, but more trails as well.

If you can’t make it to Kalamazoo, check out the art on this facebook page- “Fourth Coast Illuminated gallery”  Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

