Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Stormy afternoon © 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Stormy afternoon
© 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Day 2 of Colorado visit-continued

After a perfect start to the day at Red Rock Canyon, the weather deteriorated rapidly and we looked for something to do inside-away from possible hail and torrential rains!  My cousin is also into insects and suggested the May Natural History Museum of the Tropics.  James F. W. May and his son collected nearly 100,000 invertebrates over their lifetimes (1884-1960’s), of which 8000 of the largest and most colorful are shown at the museum.  His son, John, built the museum and curated the collection which has traveled all over the United States and Canada.  The family still runs the museum today.

Hercules and me © 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Hercules and me
© 2014 Karen A. Johnson

The turnoff to the museum is marked by a huge Hercules beetle sculpture which I just had to stop and see.  There was a well-worn path to the top of the hill so I wasn’t the only one who made a pilgrimage up there.

I’ve seen a lot of collections, but I will admit that this was one of the biggest.  It’s still amazing to me the diversity and beauty of the insect world and I never get bored with looking at them!  The interior was fairly dark so my photos aren’t the best, but they will give you an idea of the place.

There was one live creature and that was a black widow spider…and after watching a video about that spider, I hope never to be bitten by one!

Black widow © 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Black widow
© 2014 Karen A. Johnson

 

