Tags

, , , , , , ,

Yesterday evening we dropped thirty degrees and when I went to pick raspberries the next morning, I noticed a beautiful Black Saddlebags dragonfly (Tramea lacerata) resting on the leaves.  Since I’ve rarely seen them perch, I took some photos, but it was somewhat windy and dark which made it an exercise in frustration.

Black Saddlebags dragonfly 2 © 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Black Saddlebags dragonfly 2
© 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Black Saddlebags dragonfly © 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Black Saddlebags dragonfly
© 2014 Karen A. Johnson

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I went out again this morning and he was still there!  It was time to sketch him.  And yes, it was still dark, windy and cold…I bundled up!  Enjoy!

Black Saddlebags dragonfly sketch © 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Black Saddlebags dragonfly sketch
© 2014 Karen A. Johnson

 

 

