Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Vacations to faraway places can be inspiring.  My husband and I recently went to France to visit our daughter who is studying abroad for one semester.  We started off in Paris and found a hotel in the Latin Quarter, only a 10 minute walk from Notre Dame Cathedral.  Naturally, the cathedral became a focal point for our visit and we got to see it in all kinds of weather.  I loved the intricate sculptures on the outside, the stained glass on the inside and the majesty and awe of the towering spires.  On our last day in Paris, it rained and my husband went up the 400 steps to the top of the bell tower and saw rain pouring out of the gargoyle downspouts.

I decided to sketch inside instead…it was very dark in the main hall without the sun to brighten it up and it was interesting to sketch in such conditions.  It was difficult not to get bogged down in the details, but not having a lot of time helped with that.

Notre Dame sketch © 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Notre Dame sketch
© 2014 Karen A. Johnson

 

I hope you enjoy our impressions of Notre Dame…it was a beautiful place!

