Tags

, , , , , , ,

Luxembourg gardens sketch © 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Luxembourg gardens sketch
© 2014 Karen A. Johnson

We walked to the Luxembourg gardens and enjoyed a relaxing morning-I sketched and my husband explored the grounds.  The gardens were a green oasis in the middle of the city.  There was a palace which now serves as a government building,

several fountains,

hundreds of statues

 

and of course, flowers.  Although I will admit to being surprised at the presence of palm trees, they added a tropical flair to the atmosphere.

I enjoyed the many statues of the queens of France through the ages along with their attire. I thought it was interesting that Mathilde had a sword and it made me wonder about her life.

There were other people sketching and painting which was fun to see.  It was nice not being the only one…Enjoy!

Sketching © 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Sketching
© 2014 Brett W. Johnson

Painters © 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Painters
© 2014 Karen A. Johnson

