Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

After we saw the Luxembourg Gardens, we walked over to the Louvre. It was an overcast, gray day and there was a crowd, but I didn’t mind waiting in line as there was so much to see!

The pyramid…

The buildings…

Gate with gold © 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Gate with gold
© 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Sun king © 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Sun king
© 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Courtyard © 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Courtyard
© 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Statues…

Cardinal Richelieu © 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Cardinal Richelieu
© 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Louis XIV statue © 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Louis XIV statue
© 2014 Karen A. Johnson

 

Once we got inside, it was hall after hall of sculpture, paintings, and ancient artifacts.  I was amused at how many people were crowded into the room that housed the Mona Lisa.  It’s so small and is all by itself on the far wall…

The Louvre used to be one of Louis XIV’s palaces so the building itself was marvelous to look at.  I kept wandering to the windows to look outside and see the building’s architecture from a fresh perspective.

We finally got tired and even my husband wanted to rest, so I took the opportunity to sketch a little bit. We didn’t realize that it was nearly closing time until I noticed the security guard tapping his foot and urging me to clean up.  I hurriedly gathered everything and we walked out the rapidly emptying museum.

Sketching at the Louvre © 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Sketching at the Louvre
© 2014 Karen A. Johnson

I had been disappointed photographically with all the gray skies, so when a patch of blue appeared the next day and we happened to be in the vicinity of the Louvre, we walked back over and looked at it again in the sun…gorgeous!  Enjoy…

