Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Photographing inside the Musée d’Orsay was definitely more discouraged than at the Louvre.  “No photographing” signs were posted frequently and I had to content myself with visually soaking in the beautiful sculptures and paintings that filled every hall and room of the revamped train station.  French Impressionists are some of my favorite artists and I had a hard time leaving that area-so beautiful…and crowded!

I found a room full of animal sculptures that was fairly empty and decided to take some time and sketch.  I could see the top of the Louvre in the background through the window and couldn’t resist adding that in as well.

Musée d'Orsay sketch © 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Musée d’Orsay sketch
© 2014 Karen A. Johnson

Then I found a model of the lions at the Louvre and sketched that; although, I wished that he faced the other way. But no matter, he was a majestic beast.

The Musée d’Orsay had beautiful sculptural details on the outside of the building along with several animal sculptures.  All in all it was a great visit.  Enjoy!

