Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Last week the Nature Artists’ Guild held a sketching session at the Jurica-Suchy Nature Museum located at Benedictine University in Lisle, IL.  The museum has a wonderful assortment of specimens from all over the animal kingdom.  It was hard to decide what to sketch!

However, since I had recently photographed some owls (see my previous post), I decided to try sketching them.  A small screech owl caught my eye with an interesting pose, so I tried him first.

Southern Screech Owl sketch © 2015 Karen A. Johnson

Southern Screech Owl sketch
© 2015 Karen A. Johnson

After a break, I had time for one more.  I’ve been having issues in my garden with voles, so I will admit that seeing the barred owl with a vole in its beak, brought me a measure of satisfaction.  I thought I would have some fun with the application of color as I’ve always admired Peggy Macnamara‘s work.  For me, my sketchbook is where I can experiment, try new things, and not worry so much about the result…or at least try not to!  Enjoy!

