Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Every spring I make several trips to the Morton Arboretum to sketch and photograph the rapidly blooming flowers and each time it’s different.  This week I finally caught the Cornelian Cherry blooming and a lot of other ephemeral flowers.  It was a beautiful day…

I finally put my camera down and decided to attempt a sketch of a peaceful willow scene.  I’m still trying to improve my landscapes and the only way to do that is to keep trying!

Willows by the river sketch © 2015 Karen A. Johnson

Willows by the river sketch
© 2015 Karen A. Johnson

This weekend you’re all invited to come see the Nature Artists’ Guild Spring Exhibit.  I’ll have a graphite scratchboard drawing and 2 pieces of polymer clay jewelry in the exhibit.  Plus our featured artist is Nancy Halliday, a noted scientific illustrator, who does wonderful mammals that look like they could walk off the page.

Artwork by Nancy Halliday Exhibit postcard ©2015 Evelyn Grala

Artwork by Nancy Halliday
Exhibit postcard
©2015 Evelyn Grala

Hope to see you there!  Enjoy the beauty of spring…

 

