Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Had a magical day last week where 2 moths emerged in one day!  I had discovered a sphinx pupa in my vegetable garden while hand-tilling this spring.  I assumed it was a tomato hornworm as it was fairly large, but decided to rear it out and see for sure.  I’m glad I did-it was an Elm sphinx moth!  It must have had quite a journey to end up in my vegetable garden as trees are some distance away.

This spring I also found some silk moth cocoons for the first time in years.  A beautiful female Polyphemus emerged late in the afternoon after it rained and she was quite cooperative with my photographic efforts.

 

Even later it occurred to me that I should sketch her as well.  As it was getting dark and time for dinner, I only had about 10 minutes to do this one.  I just love her “furry” legs and round abdomen, full of eggs.  She is truly one of God’s magnificent creatures!

Moth sketch © 2015 Karen A. Johnson

Moth sketch
© 2015 Karen A. Johnson

 

I added some watercolor to the sketch a few days later by using my photos.  Hope she survived the cold and rain that came through…Enjoy!

 

Polyphemus moth color sketch © 2015 Karen A. Johnson

Polyphemus moth color sketch
© 2015 Karen A. Johnson

 

