Tags

, , , , , , ,

My second Polyphemus moth emerged a few days after the first one (see “Magical Moths” post) and once again, I just missed the actual emergence.  She was a beauty!

Polyphemus 2 in jar © 2015 Karen A. Johnson

Polyphemus 2 in jar
© 2015 Karen A. Johnson

She seemed a bit larger and darker than my previous one.  You can see the hole left in the cocoon-it always amazes me how such a large body emerges from a relatively small cocoon!

It was late afternoon when she emerged and after allowing several hours for her wings to dry, it was too dark to photograph her outside.  Since I have a photography set-up for my jewelry, I thought I’d see if she’d cooperate and model for me.  She did a beautiful job!

She seemed very content to hang there, so I sketched her as well.

Polyphemus 2 sketch © 2015 Karen A. Johnson

Polyphemus 2 sketch
© 2015 Karen A. Johnson

It’s interesting to compare the two moths side by side and see the variations in pattern and color…Enjoy!

Polyphemus 2 in hand © 2015 Karen A. Johnson

Polyphemus 2 in hand
© 2015 Karen A. Johnson

Polyphemus and hands © 2015 Karen A. Johnson

Polyphemus 1 in hands
© 2015 Karen A. Johnson

Polyphemus 2-side view © 2015 Karen A. Johnson

Polyphemus 2-side view
© 2015 Karen A. Johnson

Polyphemus moth-side view © 2015 Karen A. Johnson

Polyphemus moth 1-side view
© 2015 Karen A. Johnson

