Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

The Guild of Natural Science Illustrators, Great Lakes Chapter, is having a juried exhibit at the Lost Valley Visitor Center in Glacial Park, Ringwood, IL.  This is located in Northern Illinois, a little over an hour from where I live, so I decided to make a day of it when I dropped off my artwork for the show.  It’s a large park, over 3000 acres, and full of rolling hills and many different habitats teeming with creatures.  There are miles of trails, open vistas, woods, a winding river, and much more.  Here’s a sample of what I saw…

and sketched…

Glacial park sketch © 2015 Karen A. Johnson

Glacial park sketch
© 2015 Karen A. Johnson

The exhibit, titled Capturing the Essence: connecting people and nature through art, runs from June 13-July 31, 2015 with an artists’ reception on Sunday, June 14, from 1-4 pm.

