Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

It’s been a few years since I’ve been able to see my sunflower seeds grow and actually produce flowers.  Typically the chipmunks and squirrels will chew the heads off before they even get a chance to bloom!  Growing in my jungle of a garden, a few sunflowers have actually made it and I’ve been rather obsessed with photographing them at different times of the day.  Today I put down the camera and started a sketch.  I was fascinated with the play of light on the flowers and leaves and tried to be patient with the drawing process.

Not sure how or why my dog decided to worm his way under my camping chair, but he did.

Sketching companion © 2015 Karen A. Johnson

Sketching companion
© 2015 Karen A. Johnson

I put an initial wash on the flowers and hope to continue tomorrow…enjoy!

First wash © 2015 Karen A. Johnson

First wash
© 2015 Karen A. Johnson

