Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Photographing insects has always been a fun challenge for me, but trying to sketch them seemed impossible!  Until I quit worrying about perfection and just went for quick impressions augmented with notes.  Insects that hang around flowers do tend to repeat positions and it’s a good memory workout as you try to figure out where legs and antennae are positioned.  I keep it simple and just use an ink pen and sketchbook.  If I use a pencil, I’ll spend too much time erasing and fussing!  I added watercolor later…

Insect sketches © 2015 Karen A. Johnson

Insect sketches
© 2015 Karen A. Johnson

This morning I had a VERY cooperative dragonfly that I happened to see while I was watering my tomatoes.  After the requisite photographs, I brought out my sketchbook and inked it in quickly.  As I was writing on the side, I glanced up and it was gone…enjoy!

Green darner sketch © 2015 Karen A. Johnson

Green darner sketch
© 2015 Karen A. Johnson

