Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

There’s a lot of decisions that have to be made when doing a sketch or painting.  Sketching outdoors forces me to make quick decisions, especially if the conditions are uncomfortable.  As soon as I brought my sunflower sketch indoors, however, my decision-making skills seemed to slow down considerably.  Do I add the bird or not? ( I did see one during my sketching time!) Do  I put in a background or not?  What about the bee?  Plain background or varied?  The list goes on and I was agonizing over this as if it were a final piece!  I reminded myself that this was in my sketchbook, scanned it without a background and plunged into color.  I spent more time than I probably should have on it, but I’ve learned a lot in the process.  Next decision…should I do a final piece similar to this one?  Enjoy!

Sunflower sketch part 2 © 2015 Karen A. Johnson

Sunflower sketch part 2
© 2015 Karen A. Johnson

Sunflower sketch-no background © 2015 Karen A. Johnson

Sunflower sketch-no background
© 2015 Karen A. Johnson

Sunflower sketch final © 2015 Karen A. Johnson

Sunflower sketch final
© 2015 Karen A. Johnson

 

