Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

For the past three years I’ve been see-sawing back and forth between painting and polymer clay.  After expressing this frustration recently, I had two friends, in two different states, point me in the direction of Michaels (an art store) and their canvas shadow boxes.  Friends are wonderful!

Ideas started flowing.  I thought perhaps I could display the jewelry as part of a painting when it isn’t being worn.  As I was in the middle of working on bees and honeycombs, I decided to start with that piece.

Polymer clay bees © 2015 Karen A. Johnson

Polymer clay bees
© 2015 Karen A. Johnson

Bees and honeycomb necklace parts © 2015 Karen A. Johnson

Bees and honeycomb necklace parts
© 2015 Karen A. Johnson

Since the honeycomb is such a beautiful graphic design, I thought that would make a good starting point.  Honeybees use the honeycomb to store honey as well as raise young, so I used two different colors and sizes to represent that.  Here are the steps I used to paint this piece.  I painted a small piece to make sure it would turn out like I had imagined.  Next up is finishing the necklace and making some more bees to put on the painting!  Enjoy!

