Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

The Great Lakes Chapter of the GNSI (Guild of Natural Science Illustrators) recently held their holiday meeting at the Field Museum in Chicago.  Usually I plan on sketching animals there, but this time I was hoping to find insect artifacts in some of the ancient civilization displays.  Wandering around ancient Egypt, I found many different examples of scarab beetles, both large and small, with one even embedded in a cat’s forehead!

In another hall, there was a display about the 17 year cicada with a small collection of Chinese jade cicadas and one Japanese jar with a beautiful sculpted cicada on it.  Since it was almost time for our meeting, I quickly sketched the jade cicadas as inspiration for future jewelry.

Japanese brush pot © 2015 Karen A Johnson

Japanese brush pot
© 2015 Karen A Johnson

Jade cicadas sketch © 2015 Karen A Johnson

Jade cicadas sketch
© 2015 Karen A Johnson

After the meeting, I wandered around a collection of Greek art and artifacts that were on special display for a limited time.  I found a butterfly, but that was it for insects. My favorite objects were the golden myrtle crowns.  Incredibly thin leaves, flowers and stalks made of gold perched delicately on top of thin rings of gold.  Amazing that they survived thousands of years…Enjoy!

