Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

This past summer I was fortunate enough to find several different types of caterpillars and these two instantly made me admire their graphic patterns and start thinking about how I could incorporate that into some jewelry designs.

American Lady caterpillar © 2015 Karen A. Johnson

American Lady caterpillar
© 2015 Karen A. Johnson

Monarch caterpillar © 2015 Karen A. Johnson

Monarch caterpillar
© 2015 Karen A. Johnson

After much thought, I decided to start on the Monarch caterpillar.

Preparing the colors © 2016 Karen A. Johnson

Preparing the colors
© 2016 Karen A. Johnson

It took awhile to figure out how to make the repeating pattern in clay.  But once I decided to take the design of one segment and halve it, things came together.

Making the cane pattern © 2016 Karen A. Johnson

Making the cane pattern
© 2016 Karen A. Johnson

Originally, I had planned on a more abstract bracelet…but once I made the head, the caterpillar just seemed to form itself!

Then came the problem of the “feelers” and what to do with them, but once I held up some black onyx beads, the caterpillar started to have a personality!

Beading feelers © 2016 Karen A. Johnson

Beading feelers
© 2016 Karen A. Johnson

Polymer clay is super smooth after it’s been sanded thoroughly and waxed which was the perfect finish for this funky bracelet.  Enjoy!

Monarch caterpillar bracelet © 2016 Karen A. Johnson

Monarch caterpillar bracelet
© 2016 Karen A. Johnson

