Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

There had been several very cold, cloudy days in our roller-coaster weather, so my friend and I decided to venture out to Garfield Park Conservatory in Chicago and sketch something colorful.  We usually go in January, but it had been a few years and it was interesting to see the changes.  There were the typical tropical plants, but nestled among them were art installations, adding their own beauty to that of nature’s.

After a quick survey, we settled in the fern room and started to sketch.

I wanted to capture 3 different ferns on a rock and started in with pencil.  After a while, the sound of someone watering the plants came ominously nearer, so we abandoned our positions and settled in at the other end of the fern room.

I decided to work on a second sketch in ink as I had no more watercolor paper left in my sketchbook.  Time always seems to fly by when we sketch and before I knew it, there were only thirty minutes left of our time.  The watering seemed to be done so I hustled back to my original spot, finished the last fern and started splashing colors on-after all, that’s what I had wanted to do was play with color on this gray day!

Fern sketch-watercolor added © 2016 Karen A. Johnson

Fern sketch-watercolor added
© 2016 Karen A. Johnson

I was happy with the color, but not with my lost pencil sketch, so I started inking it in and determined to finish it at home.  Notice all the water drips-it’s a very humid place!

Fern sketch-done at Conservatory © 2016 Karen A. Johnson

Fern sketch-done at Conservatory
© 2016 Karen A. Johnson

As I walked out of the fern room, I caught a glimpse of this quote on a sign and thought I’d add it to my sketch.  I also deepened the values on my ink sketch at home.  Enjoy!

Turner quote © 2016 Karen A. Johnson

Turner quote
© 2016 Karen A. Johnson

Fern room-ink © 2016 Karen A. Johnson

Fern room-ink
© 2016 Karen A. Johnson

Three ferns-watercolor and ink © 2016 Karen A. Johnson

Three ferns-watercolor and ink
© 2016 Karen A. Johnson

I didn’t touch the watercolor portion which shows how different my scanner is from my camera…interesting!

 

