Tags

, , , , , , ,

Waterfall glen sketch © 2016 Karen A. Johnson

Waterfall glen sketch
© 2016 Karen A. Johnson

My husband and I took a trip to Waterfall Glen Forest Preserve in Darien yesterday-he to bike and I to sketch.  The waterfall was a popular area in the heat, but I found a place to sit and started in with large areas of color and value without even worrying about a preliminary pencil sketch.  Time was precious as it was hot and my seat was a large root that was not exactly comfortable.  The scene before me was beautiful, however, and I was quickly immersed in it.  I sketched for around 45 minutes while families came and went and then did 10 minutes of touch-ups at home.  I used mainly watercolor with a bit of white acryla-gouache for the waterfall and other highlights that I’d lost.  I’m happy with how it turned out and am encouraged that there might be hope for me and landscapes yet!  Enjoy!

Fun creatures at the river…

