Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The 90 Day Sketchbook Challenge has come to an end.  I’ve learned a lot about myself and the subjects I’ve drawn.  I’ve learned that I can draw: when I don’t feel like it, when I don’t have time, when it’s hot, humid, crowded, and when I’m tired and don’t feel 100%.  I can’t draw when I’m violently ill.

Drawing helps me be “in the moment” and enjoy where I am instead of just recording beauty (via photograph) and moving on.  There is beauty everywhere, even in the mundane, even in my own yard.  Drawing man-made subjects was fun also; but I’m drawn to color, which generally means flowers, and insects and their lives. Drawing from life and outside is a challenge that I enjoy.  Watercolor and ink ended up being my go-to media and I think I enjoyed sketching out of my small book the best as it was the most portable.

I hope you have enjoyed coming along with me on my journey.  Here’s this last week’s sketches.  Enjoy!

Days 85, 87, 88 Fruit © 2016 Karen A. Johnson

Days 85, 87, 88 Fruit
© 2016 Karen A. Johnson

Day 86 Black Swallowtail emerged © 2016 Karen A. Johnson

Day 86 Black Swallowtail emerged
© 2016 Karen A. Johnson

Days 89, 90 "Campfire" Coleus © 2016 Karen A. Johnson

Days 89, 90 “Campfire” Coleus
© 2016 Karen A. Johnson

