Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

While traveling and visiting family in Texas, I was able to get some sketching done.  Technically this first one was done in Chicago, but I was on my way to Texas!

Midway airport © 2017 Karen A. Johnson

Midway airport
© 2017 Karen A. Johnson

Found this beautiful shrub full of berries and my dad was kind enough to let me cut off a small branch.  I think it’s some kind of holly.

Texas berries © 2017 Karen A Johnson

Texas berries
© 2017 Karen A Johnson

And the last sketch is a large staghorn fern that managed to survive the low temperatures that hit Houston while I was there.  My sister had it in a protected area with supplemental heat.

Staghorn fern © 2017 Karen A Johnson

Staghorn fern
© 2017 Karen A Johnson

I had fun sketching some different subjects to start the New Year.  Sketching helps me keep my drawing chops in shape, plus helps me to see the beauty in my surroundings.  Enjoy!

