Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

One of the great things about being an artist is that I can make changes to one of my paintings even after it’s “finished”.  Hexagons and Honeybees was finished last year and after being exhibited at the Nature Artists’ Guild group exhibit, was hung on my wall.

Hexagons and Honeybees © 2017 Karen A Johnson

Hexagons and Honeybees
© 2017 Karen A Johnson

Sometimes it just takes time for ideas to incubate.  The yellow color bothered me and no one could see my tiny bees.  What to do?  My friend, Suzanne, was brave enough to suggest some ideas and that was enough to get me going.  After a bit of procrastination, I just dove in.

I took out the bees and added another section of honeycomb and darkened all the yellow, eventually making the cell walls very dark.

H & H no bees © 2017 Karen A Johnson

H & H no bees
© 2017 Karen A Johnson

H & H 3 © 2017 Karen A Johnson

H & H 3
© 2017 Karen A Johnson

H & H 4 © 2017 Karen A Johnson

H & H 4
© 2017 Karen A Johnson

H & H 5 © 2017 Karen A Johnson

H & H 5
© 2017 Karen A Johnson

I still wanted to incorporate polymer clay sculpture into the piece so I decided to see if I could sculpt a 3D honeycomb.  I have much more empathy and appreciation for how much work these little insects do…

Honeycomb © 2017 Karen A Johnson

Honeycomb
© 2017 Karen A Johnson

Honeycomb 2 © 2017 Karen A Johnson

Honeycomb 2
© 2017 Karen A Johnson

Honeycomb 3 © 2017 Karen A Johnson

Honeycomb 3
© 2017 Karen A Johnson

honeycomb baked © 2017 Karen A Johnson

honeycomb baked
© 2017 Karen A Johnson

Attaching it will be another problem to solve!  And after that will come the bees…Enjoy!

