Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Hexagons and Honeybees 2 is now finished!

Before: see previous post

Hexagons and Honeybees
© 2016 Karen A Johnson

After:

Hexagons and Honeybees 2
© 2017 Karen A Johnson

The large bees took everything I knew about sculpting to create and I learned that I could indeed do more than one sculpture of the same creature!  They’re each a bit different and I must say I’m rather attached to them.

Hexagons and Honeybees 2 detail
© 2017 Karen A Johnson

The little bees have found a home in a beautiful oak box that my husband made for me.  He’s the best!

Honeybee study 1
© 2017 Karen A Johnson

Both of these pieces will be part of an art exhibit that Suzanne Wegener and I will be holding at the Heller Nature Center in Highland Park starting on May 2, 2017.  There will be an artists’ demonstration and reception on May 6 from 1-3 pm.  Hope to see you there!

Heller Nature Center-in the Prairie Room

2821 Ridge Rd. Highland Park, IL 60035

May 2 to July 2, 2017

Hours: M-F 9-5 pm, Saturday 9-3 pm

Patrons interested in viewing the exhibit should call the Heller Nature Center at 847-433-6901 in advance to assure the Prairie Room is available for their visit.

